11 Replies - 2390 Views - Last Post: 01 July 2011 - 12:24 AM

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Tips for the video game industry?

Posted 15 June 2011 - 10:54 PM

So I've been trying for a while to get into the video game industry. I'm going to college for it, and I definitely love doing it, but it seems like for every position/internship I apply for, I'm overlooked and I never hear back.

Is anyone here in the industry? And if so, how did you get into it? Is LinkedIn really as useful as everyone thinks?

I've been programming for 5 years, plus I have OOP down pat, so there's no problems there, just haven't received my degree yet (less than 1/3 left).

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Tips for the video game industry?

• Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Tips for the video game industry?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 06:44 AM

Though I am not in the industry myself, I would offer the following recommendation. Getting any position is about proving that you are more valuable to the company than the other candidates. If you have thousands of hopefuls whom have an education, it's certainly not as promising as having a qualified, experienced candidate. I would suggest focusing on gaining experience as well as your college education.

Have you produced any flash apps?
Have you contributed to any home-brew gaming development productions?
Have you contributed to any open source projects?

The more stuff in the real world you can put your name to, the more likely someone is going to take you seriously.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• XNArchitect
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2011 - 06:55 AM