6 Replies - 3069 Views - Last Post: 16 June 2011 - 11:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 juryben  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 30-November 10

Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 09:44 AM

I use Visual Studios 2010 as my IDE and every application I make require this .dll. Why? Is there a way I do need it for my application to load?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

#2 juryben  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 30-November 10

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:28 AM

I found out how to fix it, but I fully do not understand. I made my library static and had a linker problem (error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol).

So then I added some library file in additional dependencies and it compiled. I don't understand why I need to add a .lib to additional dependencies so if someone can shed some light that would be great.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 vividexstance  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 653
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,240
  • Joined: 31-December 10

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:31 AM

If you're using a library in your program and the linker doesn't know where that library is located, it's going to give you errors like "Unresolved external symbol". So you need to tell the linker where that library is located in your file-system.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 snoopy11  Icon User is offline

  • Engineering ● Software
  • member icon

Reputation: 768
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,234
  • Joined: 20-March 10

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:33 AM

You can statically build this dll into your .exe
by going to Project -> Properties
then

C/C++ -> Code Generation

Change the Runtime Library setting
from

/MDd
to
/MTd

MSVCR100D.dll is part of the runtime enviroment for VS 2010
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6051
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,483
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:37 AM

Alternatively, you could compile in Release Mode rather than Debug Mode and have the user download and install the VC++ 2010 Runtime Redistributable.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 juryben  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 30-November 10

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 11:51 AM

OKay, thanks guys. One thing, is there a way to know which libraries you need without having to Google it?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 vividexstance  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 653
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,240
  • Joined: 31-December 10

Re: Why Does my Application Require MSVCR100D.dll?

Posted 16 June 2011 - 11:57 AM

The standard libraries are already included for you. You don't need to worry about them, the only time you need to know about a library, is when you need to use a non-standard library, e.g. a graphics library or a graphical user interface library. Even then, if the library you're trying to use is in the correct folder where the compiler/linker look, then everything will be fine. You can also edit where the compiler/linker look too.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1