5 Replies - 8280 Views - Last Post: 25 June 2011 - 07:08 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question: VP MS Visual Studio 2010 - Saving Dataset with user input

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:51 AM

Hello all.
I'm fairly new to the VB world. And i'm not an expert. I have an issue which is complex to me but probably a breeze for you all.
I had an Excel spreadsheet which I put in MS Access (database). I then took that database and used that as a source in VB to create a GUI for.
In VB I have an input text box to search and pull of different fields.
I created some queries for searches in from the text box.
I have have a dataset view of the data which has the binding navigator (add, insert, save).

The problem I have is that when I hit the '+' for add to add information and then click the 'save' button in the binding Navigator, the information I put in does not save. I check this by exit out of the program run (debug to open the app) and then open it back up to search and/or check for the new information I put in.

My overall goal is to create to publish the final code and use an a standalone program.

Also, as another option,(I would like to learn) Is there a way to map VB directly to an Excel file to have the user input information and save to the excel file.
I would like to get help on the first problem I mentioned.

Thanks for any help.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question: VP MS Visual Studio 2010 - Saving Dataset with user input

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Question: VP MS Visual Studio 2010 - Saving Dataset with user input

Posted 24 June 2011 - 03:40 PM

Not sure exactly how you are viewing the data, but adding a record to the dataview isnt going to save it to the database, those are two different operations.