13 Replies - 3967 Views - Last Post: 23 June 2011 - 01:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C++ FLTK BJARNE STROUSTRUP BOOK

Posted 21 June 2011 - 04:34 PM

I just started learning programming. I'm reading "Programming Principles and Practice Using C++." I'm at the beginning of the book and it tells me to install FLTK and Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. I have both programs, I managed to install FLTK by clicking a differently named file in the VS2010 folder of FLTK. After that I see the FLTK GUI and I closed Visual Studio and in the book it tells me to write some code to see if FLTK was installed correctly. I get an error "Can't find filename.exe" after trying to build it. I also got the same error when I tried building "HelloWorld.cpp"

TL;DR

I get a build error when I try debugging my program. I press debug and Visual Studio 2010 asks me "Would you like to build it?" I press "Yes." Then it says "There were build errors, would you like to run the last successful build?" I click "Yes" again. Then it says "Unable to start program C:Users\admin\documents\visual studio 2010\Projects\HelloWorld\Debug\HelloWorld.exe The system cannot find the file specified"

The code is:

#include <FL/Fl.H>
#include <FL/Fl_Box.H>
#include <FL/Fl_window.H>

int main()
{
	Fl_Window window(200, 200,"Window title");
	Fl_Box box(0,0,200,200,"Hey, I mean, Hello, World!");
	window.show();
	return Fl::run();
}

I keep getting that error. Is there a way to fix it? I can't seem to compile anything. My specs are: iMac 27'' Core i7 3.4 gHz 6970M 4GB DDR3 RAM 1TBHDD. Windows 7 Ultimate running in bootcamp using Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate SP1 as my IDE.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C++ FLTK BJARNE STROUSTRUP BOOK

• Duke of Err
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C++ FLTK BJARNE STROUSTRUP BOOK

Posted 21 June 2011 - 05:25 PM

Have you moved the libs and includes or told VS where they are?

How do I install FLTK for VS2010?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -