2 Replies - 277 Views - Last Post: 24 June 2011 - 06:31 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Optimizing Directory Indexer

Posted 23 June 2011 - 01:56 PM

I'm new to programming in PHP and I've run into a snag with a bit of code. I've got a function that indexes a directory of photos, it's used in conjunction with a database query to get info about the photo based on the name. The function runs fine when used on a small scale but during a stress test (8000+ files) it took 10 minutes to load the page (as well as any time the page was refreshed). If any has any suggestions for ways to optimize it I'd be very grateful. My initial thought was to store the array in the session just to prevent it being called every time the page was loaded.

function dirIndex($dirpath) {
	$filelist = array();

if (is_dir($dirpath)) {
		if ($dh = opendir($dirpath)) {
			// Index files within directory

$count = 0;

while (($file = readdir($dh)) !== false) {
				if ($file != '.' && $file != '..') {
					$filepath = $dirpath . $file;
					$mimetype = fileMimeType($filepath);

if (strstr($mimetype, 'image/')) {
						array_push($filelist, $file);
					}
				}
			}
			closedir($dh);
		}
	}

return $filelist;
}

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Optimizing Directory Indexer

• Resident Curmudgeon

• View blog

Re: Optimizing Directory Indexer

Posted 23 June 2011 - 02:56 PM

Well, you could start by not running this on a directory with 8000 files. :)

Seriously, though, this function is not your problem. Directory traversal is fast. Even with 8000 files, just building up the list shouldn't take more than a second on any half-way decent hardware. And just to be sure, I tried it out. Using a simple regex for the fileMimeType() function, I was able to run this over a directory of 8000 images on my laptop in 0.098 seconds.