{
		getline(myFile, text);
		cout << text << endl;
	    }
		cin.get();
}

Now the problem is I really don't understand this statement:

while (!myFile.eof())

Please explain me ! I am just a beginner, so the more lucid the explanation, the better !

If you feel there's something I need to learn beforehand/any enhancement to the code, please convey it to me ! I am ready to learn. Also how to check if the file already exists or not. Also please explain the ! operator.

This post has been edited by Jeet.in: 26 June 2011 - 12:54 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: File Read /fstream queries

#2 Salem_c  Icon User is online

• void main'ers are DOOMED
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: File Read /fstream queries

Posted 26 June 2011 - 12:55 PM

It's depressing that after 50 posts, you're still using void main.

You need to start learning what the language allows you to use, not what your current compiler will let you get away with. At least turn up the warning level to is maximum value.

As for the feof() thing, read this
http://sourceforge.n....php?title=Feof
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 June 2011 - 01:41 PM

It's depressing that after 50 posts, you're still using void main.

I don't want to start a debate, I am too novice to do that, but would like to quote a word or two from NickDMax:

void main() is not evil either. I agree that it should be avoided because it hides something from the programmer and is "non-standard" but it will not blow up the OS or fry hard drives and cause war in the middle-east. What it WILL do is get you pounced on by know-it-all forum posters.