7 Replies - 10698 Views - Last Post: 29 June 2011 - 07:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Associating names with individual registers (values) in a range

Posted 28 June 2011 - 07:36 AM

Hi there,

I have a list, which I obtain from an XML file (I am using it as a configuration file) which contains the addresses of registers and the number of subsequent registers to read from each point. My problem is, I need the name of each individual parameter/register to allow me to insert into a similarly named database column, but specifying a range instead of single value elements precludes me from individually associating them with their own name.

At the moment I am considering another XML file from which I could build a list/dictionary to handle this association for me, but this means two config files, an additional list, and perhaps another custom class. Is this too much?

Could anyone offer a better solution? This is my first time working with XML/config files so I am unsure what is considered bad practice in this regard. Any help much appreciated, Cheers!

This post has been edited by greyEd: 28 June 2011 - 07:37 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Associating names with individual registers (values) in a range

• Changed Man With Different Priorities
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Associating names with individual registers (values) in a range

Posted 29 June 2011 - 04:04 AM

C# has a generic collection called Dictionary, which can do just that.
Dictionary<string, string> dict;
You can pair any variable type you, from string and objects to objects and strings.
msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/xfhwa508.aspx

This post has been edited by codeprada: 29 June 2011 - 04:07 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 June 2011 - 06:03 AM

Thanks codeprada,