4 Replies - 4988 Views - Last Post: 06 July 2011 - 11:57 PM

• sudo pacman -S moneyz

• View blog

Starting a New Project. Advice?

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:59 AM

So I've been wanting to learn a new programming language for a while. I started learning C++ but I'm still only doing basic console apps.

Basically, I play for a local tennis club with some friends. I want to create a program to input scores and statistics. I know there are loads of "apps" available for this on both android and apple, but this is a pure learning experience. Working on something that will end in something usable and beneficial will really make me learn quicker.

So the basic functions of the program will be:

• Easy click to add score
  • Have options for: first serve in, second serve in, double fault, ace, forehand winner, backhand winner etc..
  • easy functionality (have to input after point, so should be as quick as possible)
  • print reports to log files and keep records of overall percentages of stats

I'm mainly a web developer and have never really settled with a true programming language. I could probably make an offline PHP version, but I want to learn something new :)

What language would you guys recommend?

Am I starting too big or should this be a reasonable project? Bear in mind time isn't an issue, I have time to put in and learn.

I think I could handle the math and functionality side on C++, but I don't know much about API or making any kind of GUI. Would something like Java be better?

Looking forward to your input :)

EDIT: Oh and I will be running it on my netbook for the time being. But I plan on getting an android tablet sometime before the end of the year, so a cross platform language would be ideal.

This post has been edited by Slice: 05 July 2011 - 03:02 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Starting a New Project. Advice?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Starting a New Project. Advice?

Posted 05 July 2011 - 08:30 AM