11 Replies - 4445 Views - Last Post: 08 July 2011 - 12:05 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Web Developing Portfolio

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:14 AM

I just graduated from college and started working in the IT field. The company I work for in quite small and encourages it's employees to continue learning and broadening their skills. I've always had an interest in web development and I believe this could be a skill that helps the company as well as my career. In order to do this I feel like I need a project or portfolio to show some progress and gain more experience but I have no idea what to build...

So my question is "What suggestions can you give as far as websites to build?"

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Web Developing Portfolio

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Web Developing Portfolio

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:28 AM

Well coverton,

I am also new in this field but have an experience of web development of around 6+ months.You can start learning web technologies from W3SCHOOLS.
I am sure that it will help you to improve your knowledge at basic level.First start with small things like HTML,Javascript, css etc.

After you got some idea about what html, javascript, css etc. you can try some hands to make static websites.Provide few scripting inthose websites like simple validation in query form.

After making some websites and having good knowledge you will find it very interesting.You can also learn FLASH, multimedia to make your web pages more interactive.

Once you feel that now you have good idea in static part of web, you can move to Server Side scripting languages like ASP or PHP to make dyanamic pages.

If you dont get projects you can make just the demo websites.In start of my carrer i dont have any projects so on that time i just google few designs and convert them.