13 Replies - 4054 Views - Last Post: 13 July 2011 - 09:01 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Number Guessing Game

Posted 09 July 2011 - 06:12 PM

I am new to programming and am currently taking a course in it. However, I can never seem to understand the instructions for my assignments. Can someone help me interpret what I am supposed to do. I'm not asking for specific code but still need to figure out what the application should do. I am very confused. Please help :helpsmilie: :sweatdrop:

Instructions
Create a form with the features shown below. We will have a form with no textboxes.

We will play the number guessing game. The user picks the range for the number to be guessed from a combobox. Then based on the range, the logic decides how many chances they get to guess the correct number according to the following:
Range between 0 and 10, number of guesses is 3. User gets 1 point for guessing.
Range between 0 and 50, number of guesses is 5. User gets 5 points for guessing.
Range between 0 and 100, number of guesses is 8. User gets 50 points for guessing.
Allow the user to play multiple games and for each one you must:

Add the points for a total score. You will need a form-level variable to add scores. This variable is only reset to 0 under the Reset button handler.
Use CInt(Rnd() * MaxRange) where MaxRange is the max possible guess.
For example, for range between 0 and 50, the computerGuess = CInt( Rnd() * 50)

Allow the user to change their game setting by changing the value of the combo without resetting the score to 0.

Your form and logic should include the following buttons:

Buttons : New Game, Reset, Quit.
One combobox showing options of 0-10, 0-50, 0-100. 0-10 is the default.
When the user clicks New Game, a new guess is generated based on the range of the combo.
A numberOfTries variable is set to the allowed chances based on the choice of the combo.
The computerGuess is generated as shown above.