3 Replies - 1985 Views - Last Post: 10 July 2011 - 02:28 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Yaml file throwing errors

Posted 10 July 2011 - 12:58 PM

I am a super beginner with Ruby, so please give me any pointers if you have them.

I am working on a Twitter application to work with and Arduino board. All the application does is monitor a twitter account and check for new messages every 15 seconds. I had everything working until I decided that I want to post the code to GitHub. I moved all of my private configuration things (Application keys and user keys) into a Yaml file setup like the following:

app:
	oauth_consumer_token: consumertokenkey
	oauth_consumer_secret: consumersecretkey
user:
	key: userkey
	secret: usersecret

Then to parse the file I used the following code as I found on some blogs:

require 'yaml'

CONFIG = YAML::load_file("conf.yml")

Now when I run the code I get an error message:

/System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:133:in `load': syntax error on line 1, col 22: `	oauth_consumer_token: consumertokenkey' (ArgumentError)
	from /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:133:in `load'
	from /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:144:in `load_file'
	from /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:143:in `open'
	from /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:143:in `load_file'
	from twituino.rb:6

I can't seem to figure out what the actually syntax error is though after searching online for anything that might help.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Yaml file throwing errors

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Yaml file throwing errors

Posted 10 July 2011 - 02:13 PM

You have tabs in your yaml file, which is not allowed. Replace them with spaces and it will work.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -