2 Replies - 935 Views - Last Post: 12 July 2011 - 06:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to add items from active form to another form?

Posted 12 July 2011 - 04:50 PM

Hello all. I am a self taught programer and have run into a problem with my code. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am working on a program that has a listView box in the main form and when a user selects add item it will pop open a new form that has pick lists and of dependent drop downs as well as text boxes. I want to keep the second form open so the user can keep adding material to the list in the main form. I have done something similar before but it was dependent on the close of the second form to add the item to a text box on the main. Below is a sample of my code so far.

This is the code for the button click to add material

private void button6_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)//Material selection
        {
            MaterialSelection myForm2 = new MaterialSelection();
            myForm2.ShowDialog();
            myForm2.Dispose();
            textBox2.Text = myForm2.matselected;//gets selected material from mat form
        }

This is the code at the start of the popup form
public string matselected//add class to get selected mat on close
        {
            get { return listBox3.Text; }
        }

In the new I did this
public string memlist
        {
            get { return memlist; }
        }

This code is from another program that I have and it works on close but I want to add the items to a list in another open form. When I add this code it gives me the following error.

Error 2 An object reference is required for the non-static field, method, or property 'programname.AddItem.memlist.get'

Any push in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to add items from active form to another form?

• Like a lollipop
  • member icon

• View blog