9 Replies - 765 Views - Last Post: 17 July 2011 - 12:48 AM

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Graduate school immediately after graduating?

Posted 14 July 2011 - 03:22 AM

I'm an incoming Sophomore CS/Math major. Would it be smart for me to immediately go pursue my Masters degree once I graduate?
Or if I get a job offer before then, should I take it, or should I go for my masters and be more marketable.

Thanks!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Graduate school immediately after graduating?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Graduate school immediately after graduating?

Posted 14 July 2011 - 04:02 AM

I would suggest you continue your masters then pursue for your jobs.Once you complete your masters you will definitely get better job offers than what you would get after just doing your graduation.Unless you are very strongly determined to masters laziness slowly creeps in, after you take a job after graduation.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Awesome
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 July 2011 - 04:51 AM

From what I've heard it's better to go directly to grad school because taking time off will make you forget how time consuming school is.

I've also heard some people say that they think you should take a year off and work because you'll appreciate what you learn more and it will all make more sense.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 14 July 2011 - 05:30 AM

I'm graduating this year and I'm going straight onto master's. As someone who took a year off school once that turned into 6, I say keep the momentum while you have it. I extended my break because I had a good, well paid job that I enjoyed, but then I moved to a different country and realized I had no marketable qualifications, so I went back to school. It will be even harder to motivate yourself to go back for a master's if you land a decent job with a BS.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog