12 Replies - 3250 Views - Last Post: 20 July 2011 - 05:29 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Junior C# Developer - What would it entail?

Posted 18 July 2011 - 08:41 AM

I'm starting my second year at University in October (BSc Applied Computing) and after graduating I'm hoping to be a C# Developer (Junior level obviously). I was wondering what the day to day tasks of a Junior Developer usually are? And what I could be doing to improve my chances at getting hired and being reasonably useful at the job!

We have a project to do for the final year, any advice from graduates welcome too!

Many thanks

Mike
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Junior C# Developer - What would it entail?

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Junior C# Developer - What would it entail?

Posted 18 July 2011 - 02:48 PM

I'm currently a junior software developer at a company that uses mainly uses C# with WPF. I have been at the job for 7 weeks now, it is only a undergraduate 12 month placement but from what I can gather from talking to my co-workers I am doing the same as any normal junior developer would be, however they will be more lenient with me if I'm a tool.

I started out on a product that has been in development for around 18 months, so basically everything was done already, starting out I had to learn the current code base and techniques before moving onto basic bug fixes, such as fixing exceptions, editing the UI etc. I then moved onto unit testing which helped me get a better grasp of how all the data abstraction fit in with the rest of the application.

After that I moved on to have a bit more responsibility by moving onto a new product with a much smaller team, coding the initial UI to the specification laid out in design documents. I'm now on the creation of data abstraction layer objects and model objects to link the UI to MSSQL or VistaDB databases.