6 Replies - 6461 Views - Last Post: 19 July 2011 - 04:50 PM

#1 Sergio Tapia  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1252
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,168
  • Joined: 27-January 10

Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:20 PM

This is the error:
[Window Title]
C:\Users\Sergio\Desktop\Things\Setup.exe

[Content]
The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're 
running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an 
x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the 
software publisher.

[OK]


I'm running Windows 7 (64bit) Ultimate and have installed this service pack before (2 days ago) on another machine with similar specs and the same exact OS software.

I've tried mounting the .ISO file to a virtual drive and installing from there and I get that error.

I've tried mounting the .ISO and copy pasting the files to a local folder on my drive and then running the setup.exe application, and I get that error.

I don't know how to proceed but can provide any additional information you require from me. What can I do to fix this?

If I right click Setup.exe and Run As Administrator, I get the following error:

[Window Title]
C:\Users\Sergio\Desktop\Things\Setup.exe

[Content]
Windows cannot find 'C:\Users\Sergio\Desktop\Things\Setup.exe'. Make sure you 
typed the name correctly, and then try again.

[OK]


I've already tried re downloading the ISO from the site, but a quick check of the bytes of the file assures me that the ISO on my drive is 100% correctly downloaded. I get the same amount of bytes in size from the downloading ISO (as Opera reports).

Any ideas?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9069
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,083
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:25 PM

What are you using to run the ISO? Are you extracting the files to a folder or something before you run it?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Sergio Tapia  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1252
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,168
  • Joined: 27-January 10

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:28 PM

I'm using UltraISO to mount the .ISO file.

Quote

I've tried mounting the .ISO and copy pasting the files to a local folder on my drive and then running the setup.exe application, and I get that error.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9069
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,083
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:33 PM

Geeze I should read more thoroughly.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 rgfirefly24  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon


Reputation: 265
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,469
  • Joined: 07-April 08

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:56 PM

not exactly sure why your trying to install a service pack from .ISO. Do you have access to microsoft sites? if so try this: VS2010 SP1 just run it straight from the site.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5475
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,759
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:56 PM

This might sound rather 20th century, but have you tried burning the .ISO to a disc and running it 'old-school' ?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Sergio Tapia  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1252
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,168
  • Joined: 27-January 10

Re: Can't install Visual Studio 2010 SP1 from an .ISO file I downloade

Posted 19 July 2011 - 04:50 PM

After some fiddling around I managed to upgrade to SP1 by using one of the online installer that weighs around 300kb.

Talk about roundabout. I always seem to have trouble with these upgrades.

This post has been edited by Sergio Tapia: 19 July 2011 - 04:52 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1