8 Replies - 1572 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2011 - 05:41 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How does one become a great .NET programmer

Posted 22 July 2011 - 02:17 AM

I am starting on a programming career next month with a software company working with .NET Programming,
I am not so experienced as i am a fresh graduate, i have written a few codes for practice purposes.But i can learn and can also teach myself if given guidelines on what to read.

I would like to know what does it take to become a great programmer.
Any natural skill required to become one.
Thanks
Xv
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How does one become a great .NET programmer

• WinRT Dev
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How does one become a great .NET programmer

Posted 22 July 2011 - 03:43 AM

POPULAR

I think some kind of natural talent is needed to become a great programmer but anyone can become a good one. Many people who are trying to learn programming are struggling with the very basics, like function return values and parameters while some people notice immediately what's going on when calling a function. Also some people might have problems with multiple nested loops while other people can read them easily.

Those who understand these basics easily have more time to learn more difficult things and when they write the code, it's very fast because they don't have to thing if they need a nested loop or not, they will come up with the answer while they type or before they even start typing, without much thinking.

For example a practice which everyone has done, printing a square of stars in a console window, will tell if the programmer has a good head for the logical thinking required in programming.