4 Replies - 6361 Views - Last Post: 26 July 2011 - 02:10 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

High Score system

Posted 24 July 2011 - 10:43 PM

I know this is a common topic and I have read many different topics of people asking for help. The most common reply is to use an XML File but all there aren't any helpful tutorials for the absolute beginner.

What I want to do is create a High Score system that takes the score at the end of a game, (Which is either Pong or Memory and is a form with forms), fits it into a list of the top 10 scores. These scores will need to be saved outside of the program so they can be called up later. The scores also need to be read during the application as well.

Is xml the easiest way to do this for a beginner, or is there a better way?

Also, if xml is the easiest way, could you please link to me a tutorial or give me an explanation that an absolute beginner would understand.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: High Score system

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: High Score system

Posted 25 July 2011 - 03:17 AM

Hi there,

I don't know anything about XML, so I can't help you with that one. However, when I need to store all sorts of data I'll just use an array and a .txt file, with a 'Total' counter so I can grab everything in a loop. For example:

Dim I, Tot as Integer
Dim Scores(999,2) as String 'Here we will store the Name and Score for the highscores

Public Sub ReadFile()
' Here we will get the contents of our Highscore file
FileOpen(1,<"filepath">,Openmode.Input)
Input(1, Tot) ' This lets us know how many sets of data is in the file
For I = 1 to Tot
Input(1,Scores(I,1)) 'Name
Input(1,Scores(I,2)) 'Score
Next I
FileClose(1)
End Sub

Public Sub SaveFile()
' Here we will write our contents to a file
FileOpen(1,<"Filepath">,Openmode.Output)
Writeline(1,Tot) 'So we always know how much data is in the file
For I = 1 to Tot
Writeline(1,Score(I,1),Score(I,2))
Next I
FileClose(1)
End Sub