4 Replies - 2693 Views - Last Post: 06 August 2011 - 06:26 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to use UML in software design?

Post icon  Posted 26 July 2011 - 07:26 AM

Hello!

My question concerns software architects that have experience with UML/UTP.

Introduction:
We are currently in the start phase of a new project, where documentation for hardware with embedded software is written. I am responsible for the GUI development. As the starting point, a predecessor model is used. Its GUI was presented to me as the first information with some planned modifications to it.

Although I have more than 15 years of software development experience, I was rarely involved at the start phase of projects, as I am working as a consulter. Consulters are often called when the project is running out of time...

As I consider it important to start with test documentation in parallel to functional specification, I think about using UML for the description of functional parts. For the test, I think of model-driven testing and to use UTP (UML Test Profile).

Details:
In our system, three types of users (actors) exist: power plant technician, commissioning technician, and system expert. The GUI is primarily used to
1. Watch values and change index values
2. Make the commissioning of the device (commissioning mode)
3. Install new software or make system maintenance (expert mode)

There only exist prescriptions for the commissioning phase. Reading and changing values over currently nine menus and their submenus is not described in detail, as it is more or less straightforward.

My question:
Is in such a project the use of UML/UTP to be recommended, and to what extend? Is it OK to draw for each simple menu access use case diagrams? I do not want to get caught by the UML fever (see http://queue.acm.org...cfm?id=984495).

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to use UML in software design?

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog