14 Replies - 6443 Views - Last Post: 03 August 2011 - 10:30 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are cookbooks good for learning?

Posted 30 July 2011 - 08:02 AM

I'm currently using Visual C# 2010 Step by Step to learn C# and this is my main focus but occasionally I would like to make my own small applications to gain some experience. As I am new to programming I can't usually get good ideas for programs I am currently capable of writing.

Are cookbooks good to use along side general programming books? Obviously any code I used I would study and understand as copy and pasting would defeat the object of learning!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are cookbooks good for learning?

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are cookbooks good for learning?

Posted 30 July 2011 - 09:12 AM

I think it really depends how you learn and what's the most efficient way to learn. For me, I started in JAVA with lectures, slowly moved to C# (by using Visual C# 2008 Step by Step) and in the end I got proficient in both languages.

Most important thing to learn first are the basics and then the more advanced concepts. As I would say, just start off with your current book and grab the basics like loops, OOP and so on (I found the book quite decent, although I knew a lot from my JAVA course) and then start moving to your own projects. Although, if I remember it correctly, Visual C# step by step have quite a lot of examples and you could always extend these to your own use.

Of course, I wouldn't stop you from making your own thought programs, look at the project idea list and ask questions if you need answers. Or just think things of your own.