3 Replies - 2169 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2011 - 10:46 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best way to store data

Posted 31 July 2011 - 03:42 PM

Hi all,

I hope this is the correct place to obtain a little bit of advice for a program I am looking to produce in visual basic 2010.

I currently work as a design engineer designing press tools and a lot of our designs are similer just maybe a feature, length, diameter change etc. So the design principles are the same for each product.

What I am aiming to do is program the 3D design package so that 80% of the tool design can be done using the program etc.

Now the enquiry I have is where would the best place to hold the standard data be?

For instance each press has a maximum blank diameter, shutt height, bores diameters in the bed and likewise each product type has design features with the same calculations such as length, pierce etc.

I have done a bit of reading and I have found that data can be stored into text files, xml files and databases etc or hard coded into the program.

I am looking to allow new presses to be added so the user would need to add new shutt heuights, blank size etc but the tooling would have to be unqiue dependent on the typs of stage.

So I am wondering to store this information would a database be the best option even though the data will not be continually updated more a place for it to be retrived from excpet under failry rare circumstances.

Or would a text or xml file be ok in this case?

Sorry if I sound a bit muddled but I am quite new to vb programming so am trying to avoid re doing months of work by getting the design stable up front.

Thank you for any advice.

Craig

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best way to store data

• Like a lollipop
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best way to store data

Posted 31 July 2011 - 04:49 PM