4 Replies - 14643 Views - Last Post: 21 September 2015 - 11:10 AM

• Caffeine: db "Never Enough!"
  • member icon

• View blog

Java Game Programming Books

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:22 AM

Hey, just wondering if there is a book or a set of books that any of you recommend for Java Game Programming? I am currently looking at:

1) Developing Games In Java - David Brackeen
2) Killer Game Programming in Java by Andrew Davison

Has anyone read the above books and if so, how are they? I really want to look into Java Game Programming as I intend to do a game for my matric (final year) project. I am not a complete novice at making games in Java and I have done a few 2D Games with Swing.

So, any books that deserve special recommendation?

Thanks,
v0rtex

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Java Game Programming Books

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Java Game Programming Books

Posted 02 August 2011 - 04:57 PM

I remember reading them quite a while ago, and from what I can remember, they were good but too little time spent on each 3D Library. Its good that you have experience in 2D games with Swing, but this is quite a lot different to 3D programming. If I was you, I would personally concentrate and work within one specific library, and get books which deal directly with this library. I would recommend JMonkeyEngine, and from what I can remember, they are releasing their first book anytime soon. As for Java3D, not too sure about this. I did hear rumors that it was becoming redundant, not too sure though. JMonkeyEngine is probably the most popular library, and has been steady for quite a while now.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Caffeine: db "Never Enough!"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2011 - 09:47 PM