Convert Standard time to Military Time

• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 12734 Views - Last Post: 31 August 2011 - 06:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Convert Standard time to Military Time

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:29 PM

I want to create a new function within my class to convert standard time to military time, can someone help me? I am fairly new to programming and not sure how to go about doing this?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Convert Standard time to Military Time

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Convert Standard time to Military Time

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:34 PM

You don't convert time. Period. Time is time. Its a DateTime object.

But you can display it how you like

myDateTimeObject.ToString("HH:mm:ss"); // 24 hour time
myDateTimeObject.ToString("hh:mm:ss"); // 12 hour time

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:39 PM

makes sense, but what if i am pulling the time from a textbox that the user enters in standard 12 hour time? I need to take the 12 hour time and turn that into 24 hour time for other reasons. So the user enters a time into a text box and it is stored as a 12 hour time, but I need it to be shown in 24 hour time. Same thing?

This post has been edited by jhoog: 17 August 2011 - 12:39 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:53 PM

Read up on that link I gave you for DateTime object.

What you would do is .TryParse the text back into a DateTime object.

From there you have a real DateTime that you can manipulate in lots of ways: Display it as you like, .AddDays(), subtract one DateTime from another to get a TimeSpan... etc.

By the way, if you haven't noticed this about the DIC site...