7 Replies - 13938 Views - Last Post: 20 August 2011 - 07:05 AM Rate Topic: -----

• I'm an @sshole :)

• View blog

What is the best way to connect to SQL Server

Posted 19 August 2011 - 05:07 AM

I am teaching myself C# using VS 2008 Standard. I have several books I've been going through, and have an idea that I have been taking notes on.
The books I've got differ on the best way to connect to SQL Server 2005. I'm currently reading a book put out by Microsoft (I don't have the exact title now) that was suggested on a previous post. It is a very good book, but being put out by MS it teaches the LINQ way of connecting.
From overall experience, is this the up and coming way to go? I have seen other ways of connecting so I'm not sure.
Most of my planned work will be freelance applications. No degree and being self taught and almost 40 years old I think most corporations will look right over me until I have some provable experience and since most companies will link to a database I want to learn the best way.
Thanks for all your help.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What is the best way to connect to SQL Server

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: What is the best way to connect to SQL Server

Posted 19 August 2011 - 05:37 AM

Note: I answered your question as far as my knowledge is concerned, other more experienced DIC members got to say something here.