1 Replies - 477 Views - Last Post: 21 August 2011 - 07:04 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How the .net family relates to the html, javascript, php family

Posted 20 August 2011 - 09:08 PM

Hi folks. I have been making web sites for a couple years using good old xhtml for the structure, javascript for functionality and php for server side and database connectivity.

I am looking into moving away from websites to web application and general software development, and I am looking for a new family of languages. I had looked at Java, but it seems a bit old school and clunky. I have visual Studio 2010 on my home computer from when I took VB6 in college, so I started messing around with it a bit and have started to fall in love with C#.

Before I get too into learning a language, I like to gain an understanding of how it all works first, so i have been researching the .NET framework, CLI, CLR, WPF, etc. I have come up with some questions that I can't seem to find an answer for, so i hoping to find them here.

1. Is it correct that winforms is considered old technology, which has been replaced by WPF?

2. I remember when learning VB in school, the GUI was all click and drag, but the look was very dated. i remember thinking, "well it works, but it looks like ass". If I understand my research, WPF is the new click and drag interface but it has way more tools,s o GUIs look way better, yes?

3. true or false - I can learn C# and WPF, and tell employers I am an entry level C# programmer?

3a. If false, what other languages/technologies would I need to learn before looking for a low end job?

4. ASP.NET is for making websites, right?

5. Now to the title of my post. If I making a website with c# & asp.net, is c# playing the javascript role and asp.net playing the PHP role? Or do I have this ass backwards, and the olnly 'webby' stuff c# does is web applications, not web sites?

6. How does Silverlight fit in with all this?