10 Replies - 4964 Views - Last Post: 01 September 2011 - 10:03 AM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

What do companies want out of a programming intern?

Posted 21 August 2011 - 09:51 AM

What are the necessary programming skills required for an internship in Java/C# programming, for example? I read that companies want a programmer who is very well educated on the topic, but wants to get hands on experience in the real world. Is it true that companies want this type of free work? I suppose they don't want to have to train their interns.

If any of you know what is expected, please let me know. Specific programming concepts would be appreciated as well.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What do companies want out of a programming intern?

• The Ninjaducky
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What do companies want out of a programming intern?

Posted 21 August 2011 - 10:04 AM

I worked as an intern this summer doing Android programming, but most of my focus was on physics. I had no experience in neutron-based physics at all and I learned from scratch. Though, I had a thorough background in coding.

So, what I think is that if you are competent in coding, have a desire to learn (that's key), and you are willing to mess with topics that you know nothing about, then that's what you need.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 21 August 2011 - 10:12 AM

My dad works as an IT director for a company called Snagajob.com and he told me that his engineers use C# which is what I'm currently learning. I really want to learn, but I don't think I am proficient enough in C# or OOP in general as my programming education consists of this website, YouTube, and two books. I have two more years until I'm done with high school.

They want college students, I expect?

This post has been edited by AVReidy: 21 August 2011 - 10:18 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• The Ninjaducky