10 Replies - 1040 Views - Last Post: 28 August 2011 - 02:03 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

From code to cartridge, how to publish your game?

Posted 26 August 2011 - 11:02 PM

I have a game_engine / game that I have been working off and on for a few years and it's getting to the point of becoming a real game. If I work on it steady for another year I think I'll have a nice game with a smooth running story line. Now what I was wondering is what are the steps for getting my game to a game system?

How to approach a game development company to have them product my game?

What kinds of licencing do I need to do it myself?

Where do I go to get development kits for game platforms?

Packaging? Cartridge hardware? Are there any company's that mass produce video games? (that will talk to an outsider)

How are most games funded?

There is also the question of what game system/s to use. My dinky little game would be great for the original Nintendo, but I don't think I can get licencing for that? My game is an EXE that will run on a windows PC, so I all ready have that platform covered :)

In theory, my game can run on any system although, running my game on an XBox 360 would be over kill :)

To do this right I would guess that my Business model would have to be focused at presenting an outstanding PC version of the game, that when presented to a game development company they would gladly produce the game (under their label) leaving me with a lump-sum sell-out cash amount or with commission from the sales of the game. Also (pipe dream) they might bring me on as a game developer :)

I found a nice read that can help spark some interest Independent video game development. Has anyone from Dream in code gone through this or any of these processes? What were your experiences? Good? Bad? Total Fail?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: From code to cartridge, how to publish your game?

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog