4 Replies - 713 Views - Last Post: 04 September 2011 - 09:06 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Zephelin  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 04-September 11

loadBitmap Help

Posted 04 September 2011 - 01:12 PM

As most of the people know, Minecraft's creator released a new game for the LD compo, it's called Prelude of the Chambered

When I got the source code I compiled it with some edited 32-bit images, however the game wouldn't render them correctly and only accepted 8-bit images

What I want to do is load 32-bit (or up) images and use them without getting bad color;

Posted Image Is what I have

Posted Image Is what I get (walls with less dots is the first 16x16 piece, the mashed up wall was edited later)

Art.java: http://pastebin.com/3D33aKUf

Bitmap.java: http://pastebin.com/89tSgzPP

I hope someone can help me about it because I really want to have new textures

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: loadBitmap Help

#2 CasiOo  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1277
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,846
  • Joined: 05-April 11

Re: loadBitmap Help

Posted 04 September 2011 - 01:41 PM

The whole game and 3d engine is built up around that since it was the purpose from the beginning (it should look like an oldschool game). I believe it would take much work and a lot of knowledge to change the 3D engine he made into suiting your needs. Also he didn't give the variables throughout his program proper names since he only had 48 hours, so it would be pain to start editing his code imo.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Zephelin  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 04-September 11

Re: loadBitmap Help

Posted 04 September 2011 - 02:18 PM

I can't really model anything so I need actual help on this, tell if impossible
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 CasiOo  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1277
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,846
  • Joined: 05-April 11

Re: loadBitmap Help

Posted 04 September 2011 - 02:52 PM

View PostZephelin, on 04 September 2011 - 02:18 PM, said:

I can't really model anything so I need actual help on this, tell if impossible


I'm no expert at 3D engines, but I don't think anyone will be doing this for you. I also believe it would also be easier to make a new 3D engine from scratch if you already have to knowledge to do so.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Zephelin  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 04-September 11

Re: loadBitmap Help

Posted 04 September 2011 - 09:06 PM

View PostCasiOo, on 04 September 2011 - 02:52 PM, said:

View PostZephelin, on 04 September 2011 - 02:18 PM, said:

I can't really model anything so I need actual help on this, tell if impossible


I'm no expert at 3D engines, but I don't think anyone will be doing this for you. I also believe it would also be easier to make a new 3D engine from scratch if you already have to knowledge to do so.


That's the problem, I made tons of 2D games; platformers, rpgs, space shooters and all others but I don't really know anything about 3D stuff
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1