7 Replies - 7722 Views - Last Post: 14 September 2011 - 04:32 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Pyramid of *s!

Posted 04 September 2011 - 07:44 PM

Hullo everyone! As you can tell from my username I'm a beginner with the C++ programming language and it would be awesome if I got a little sliver of a hint just to point me in the right direction! I'm trying to answer this question:

Write a C++ program with a nested loop structure that displays a pyramid/ isosceles triangle in "*".

And so far I've only been able to make an equilateral triangle like this:

Right now I'm trying to make the spaces to make it a pyramid. Here's my current code:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
     int i, j;
     for (int i=0; i<16; i+=2)
     {
            for (int j=0; j<=i; j++)
            {
                cout << "*";
            }
            cout << endl;
    }
system ("pause");
return 0;
} 

I've been thinking that I need to add a third variable 'k' to determine the spaces, but I'm not sure where to put its statement in my for loop or how I get it to interact with the other variables (or if I need it to interact with the other ones at all)! So far when I try to add variable k with a statement like:
 for (int k=8; k>=0; k--)
       {
           cout << " ";
       }

I usually get never-ending *s! I once got a rectangle, but I can't remember how I got that now...
Any hints would be awesome, no spoilers on the code please! I really want to learn how to do this! Even a hint on how to make it right justified would be uber-awesome! Please and thanks!

- C++ newb.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Pyramid of *s!

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Pyramid of *s!

Posted 04 September 2011 - 07:52 PM

Hint: Using smaller triangles for reference, let's look at the pattern:

*    <- 2 spaces
 ***   <- 1 space
*****  <- no spaces

*    <- 3 spaces
  ***   <- 2 space
 ***** <- 1 space