7 Replies - 365 Views - Last Post: 06 September 2011 - 06:03 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Store data in variables or a database?

Posted 06 September 2011 - 03:10 PM

I am pretty sure I need to use a database, but I wanted to verify. I am designing a small app so I can track my hours on the various freelance projects I do. I have come up with some tables to store company names, project names, and start/end times. I figure, because I will be storing information for at least 2 weeks, and sometimes over a couple months, I should store it in a database and just use C# for the form functionality, etc.

Yes, I am fairly new to programming in general, so this may be a no brainer but I had to make sure. thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Store data in variables or a database?

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Store data in variables or a database?

Posted 06 September 2011 - 03:13 PM

Persistent storage vs in memory storage. Hope you aint doing any freelance work for me.
Was This Post Helpful? -1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 06 September 2011 - 04:33 PM

No need to be an ass. I only do design freelance work, not programming because I'm obviously not ready. Thank you for the answer.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 September 2011 - 04:35 PM

You would want to choose some type of persistent storage, which variables are not. So database, flat file, XML file, anything that can be written to and viewed later.

Personally, I would use a database. That's actually what I did for the time entry app that I did for my work.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 September 2011 - 05:02 PM

While I am impressed that you want to build your own application for doing this tracking... There is something to be said for not re-inventing the wheel.