5 Replies - 508 Views - Last Post: 14 September 2011 - 05:04 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 CodeCapition1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 23-September 10

help using vb to read from a website

Posted 10 September 2011 - 11:36 AM

im working on a project to make my job easier and i am lost on what i need to look at to make this work how i want it.

Description:
using vb(or another suggested language or process) i have a form that has a web browser and a few buttons (basically like a simple browser: bookmark buttons, refresh, forward, back, and address bar).

Stuck point:
i am trying to make this in the style of a data reaper kinda thing, a specific page will load based on what step my job is on for the day, the page has various stats used for calibration of the equipment, one specific stat is a power level displayed as a number ( 73, 69, 87, etc...) used to place the equipment for best results, i would like to be able to highlight the power level stat on the web page and have my vb app open a second window with just the power level displayed in a very large font size( eg. 80 or bigger) so it can be seen from across the room so i dont have to carry my laptop while moving the equipment.

i know something like this can be done i once helped on a similar project but not the part i could use now but it basically pulled the listing of search results and gave a formatted printout of the results

any ideas on places to look for information to help me build this or something i have no idea where to procede or what to search for to find what im looking for

This post has been edited by CodeCapition1: 10 September 2011 - 11:37 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: help using vb to read from a website

#2 trevster344  Icon User is offline

  • The Peasant
  • member icon

Reputation: 224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,501
  • Joined: 16-March 11

Re: help using vb to read from a website

Posted 10 September 2011 - 04:02 PM

Could you show us the code on the website(html, etc) where the power code is? That would help determine what to use.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 CodeCapition1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 23-September 10

Re: help using vb to read from a website

Posted 11 September 2011 - 11:14 AM

i will have to grab a copy one day this week i cant access it unless im direct connected. its exactly like the setup page for routers (open browser and navigate to 192.168.1.1) if that helps any i will post what i get in a few days and go from there. thanks

This post has been edited by CodeCapition1: 11 September 2011 - 11:15 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 trevster344  Icon User is offline

  • The Peasant
  • member icon

Reputation: 224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,501
  • Joined: 16-March 11

Re: help using vb to read from a website

Posted 11 September 2011 - 12:29 PM

Okie dokie sir. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Garbag3man117  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 23-January 11

Re: help using vb to read from a website

Posted 11 September 2011 - 05:18 PM

It sounds like you already have the Web Page set up. What you would need to do is parse the numbers from the HTML. This is a little hard to do in VB.NET, or any language for that matter. Can you post the HTML of the page? Or a link to the page?

I'm not sure if you have access to the server, but using MySQL is much easier. If you can, create a MySQL database and have your information stored in there. Then use VB to get the information from the MySQL database. It is much simpler and easier than parsing the HTML.

If you decide on parsing, MySQL, or something else, tell me and I'll give you some links.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 CodeCapition1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 23-September 10

Re: help using vb to read from a website

Posted 14 September 2011 - 05:04 PM

ok i finally was able to get a copy of the code from the Equipment firmware and im sure i will end up doing some sort of string extraction kind of operation my big question is i have never attempted to do anything like this before so i kinda would like just some ideas to research or like a link to some pages that would help me figure out what im doing here is the code i have for the firmware:
</div>
<div class="section" id="SectionUplinkStatusSM">
<h2 class="sectiontitle"><span class="sectiontitletext">Uplink Status</span><span style="float: right;" class="MenuBar"><img style="cursor: pointer; margin-right: 5px;" src="main.cgi_files/_min.gif" class="MenuImg"></span></h2>
<table class="section">
<tbody>
<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionlefttop">Power Level :</td>
<td class="sectionrighttop"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="RemoteAPPowerLevel"><span class="error">NA</span></span>
</div></td></tr>

<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionleft">Jitter (Interference Level) :</td>
<td class="sectionright"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="RemoteAPJitter"><span class="error">NA</span></span>
</div></td></tr>
<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionleft">Latest Remote Link Test Efficiency Percentage :</td>
<td class="sectionright"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="RemoteUpLinkEffcRate"><span class="error">NA</span></span>
 %
</div></td></tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</div>

<div class="section" id="SectionDownlinkStatusSM">
<h2 class="sectiontitle"><span class="sectiontitletext">Downlink Status</span><span style="float: right;" class="MenuBar"><img style="cursor: pointer; margin-right: 5px;" src="main.cgi_files/_min.gif" class="MenuImg"></span></h2>
<table class="section">
<tbody>
<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionlefttop">Power Level :</td>
<td class="sectionrighttop"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="PowerLevelCurrent">n/a</span>
</div></td></tr>
<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionleft">Jitter (Interference Level) :</td>
<td class="sectionright"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="JitterCurrent">0</span>
</div></td></tr>

<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionleft">Latest Remote Link Test Efficiency Percentage :</td>
<td class="sectionright"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="RemoteDnLinkEffcRate"><span class="error">NA</span></span>
 %
</div></td></tr>
<tr class="dualitem"><td class="sectionleft">BER Results :</td>
<td class="sectionright"><div style="max-width: 448px;" class="tablewrapper">
<span class="var str" id="LocalBERResults">2.272135e-01</span>
</div></td></tr>
</tbody>
</table>


also here is a picture of the actual page im trying to pull from(sensitive info is black boxed) i highlighted the two locations of the power level for easy identification

file:///C:/Users/tye/Desktop/Total%20HighSpeed/adminpage.bmp
if anyone has any ideas or suggestions for me please let me know

ok apparently i dont know how to insert a photo in my post so i included the image as an attachmentAttached File  adminpage.bmp (1.76MB)
Number of downloads: 47


and to garbag3man117:
the page is not stored on a server it is hard coded in the equipment itsself thats why i can only access it when direct connected plus nice thought but if it were that easy it wouldnt be as much fun

This post has been edited by CodeCapition1: 14 September 2011 - 05:21 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1