9 Replies - 800 Views - Last Post: 18 September 2011 - 09:44 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 leslie1956  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 13-September 11

Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 13 September 2011 - 08:28 PM

Hi
first time to be here!
I need to use my laptop(macintosh) to do C programming language homework , and i don't know is there any software can run under leopard? if there is ,where can i get it ??? thanks a lot!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

#2 Salem_c  Icon User is offline

  • void main'ers are DOOMED
  • member icon

Reputation: 1628
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,091
  • Joined: 30-May 10

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:25 PM

The "visual studio" of the mac world seems to be this.
http://developer.app...nologies/tools/

Somewhere in all that, it seems you can create vanilla C programs.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 hulla  Icon User is offline

  • Writing Lines


Reputation: 49
  • View blog
  • Posts: 732
  • Joined: 05-March 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 02:45 AM

Xcode is an IDE which is capable of compiling in many different languages including C (and C++). It's what I use when coding on a Macintosh machine. If you don't want to pay for an IDE, then use Xcode 3.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 leslie1956  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 13-September 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:41 AM

View PostSalem_c, on 13 September 2011 - 11:25 PM, said:

The "visual studio" of the mac world seems to be this.
http://developer.app...nologies/tools/

Somewhere in all that, it seems you can create vanilla C programs.

Oh ,thank you . I am now downloading. Wish it will work. Thanks again!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 leslie1956  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 13-September 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:48 AM

View Posthulla, on 14 September 2011 - 02:45 AM, said:

Xcode is an IDE which is capable of compiling in many different languages including C (and C++). It's what I use when coding on a Macintosh machine. If you don't want to pay for an IDE, then use Xcode 3.

Hey,thank you for replying , I spotted that Xcode 4 is free to download,but I cannot download ,always cannot open the website . So now I am downloading Xcode 3.2.6.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 hulla  Icon User is offline

  • Writing Lines


Reputation: 49
  • View blog
  • Posts: 732
  • Joined: 05-March 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 04:45 AM

No prob man. :)
Oh my god Xcode 4 is free!!! Yes!!! Thank you so much for the update! Last I checked it was paid, you see. <_< Gotta download it now . . .
*satisfied smile*.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Salem_c  Icon User is offline

  • void main'ers are DOOMED
  • member icon

Reputation: 1628
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,091
  • Joined: 30-May 10

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 06:04 AM

code::blocks seems to have a Mac port as well.
Though you might want to read the disclaimer first to try and figure out what "not as stable" really means.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 leslie1956  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 13-September 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 15 September 2011 - 07:43 PM

View PostSalem_c, on 14 September 2011 - 06:04 AM, said:

code::blocks seems to have a Mac port as well.
Though you might want to read the disclaimer first to try and figure out what "not as stable" really means.

Hey ,thank you for replying , I downloaded successfully.But here is a problem , I wrote a simple code then build it then run it .But it just run ,I cannot see the result ,where I can see it ??
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 hulla  Icon User is offline

  • Writing Lines


Reputation: 49
  • View blog
  • Posts: 732
  • Joined: 05-March 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 16 September 2011 - 10:49 PM

View Postleslie1956, on 16 September 2011 - 10:43 AM, said:

View PostSalem_c, on 14 September 2011 - 06:04 AM, said:

code::blocks seems to have a Mac port as well.
Though you might want to read the disclaimer first to try and figure out what "not as stable" really means.

Hey ,thank you for replying , I downloaded successfully.But here is a problem , I wrote a simple code then build it then run it .But it just run ,I cannot see the result ,where I can see it ??

Are you referring to XCode or Code::Blocks? For XCode you have to create a new project in C++ and then you click the Build and Run button and it only builds it. It does not run it. Then the manager window will have an updated version of the exe. Open that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 leslie1956  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 13-September 11

Re: Is there any software can run C programming language in my macintosh?

Posted 18 September 2011 - 09:44 PM

View Posthulla, on 16 September 2011 - 10:49 PM, said:

View Postleslie1956, on 16 September 2011 - 10:43 AM, said:

View PostSalem_c, on 14 September 2011 - 06:04 AM, said:

code::blocks seems to have a Mac port as well.
Though you might want to read the disclaimer first to try and figure out what "not as stable" really means.

Hey ,thank you for replying , I downloaded successfully.But here is a problem , I wrote a simple code then build it then run it .But it just run ,I cannot see the result ,where I can see it ??

Are you referring to XCode or Code::Blocks? For XCode you have to create a new project in C++ and then you click the Build and Run button and it only builds it. It does not run it. Then the manager window will have an updated version of the exe. Open that.

Oh yes, I did it as you told me to do ,thank you so much!! :bananaman:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1