4 Replies - 551 Views - Last Post: 14 September 2011 - 07:56 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

For loop explanation (code sample inside)

Posted 13 September 2011 - 10:52 PM

HI everyone. Figured I'd go ahead and introduce myself....

My name is Matt and I'm currently in my 4th Semester as a Computer Science major. In my C++ class, we just did a Fraction reduction program. It will reduce a Fraction to its lowest terms. We went over it in class, but I just wanted to see if anyone can clarify how exactly the following for loop reduces the Fraction. Just kind of step me through it if you can and explain how it does what it does. Thanks in advance for the help!

void Fraction::reduceFraction()
{
   int a = 0;         
   int b = 0;         
   int i = 0;           
   a = denominator;         
   b = numerator;           

for (i = 50; i > 1; i--)         
   {                 
        if ((a % i == 0) && (b % i == 0))                 
           {                         
              a /= i;                         
              b /= i;                 
           }         
   }           

denominator = a;         
  numerator = b; 

cout << "Reduced Fraction: " << numerator << "/" << denominator << endl;
}

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: For loop explanation (code sample inside)

• mov dword[esp+eax],0
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: For loop explanation (code sample inside)

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:11 PM

It loops each number from 2 to 50 for (i = 50; i > 1; i--) to see if it divides evenly with both the numerator and denominator if ((a % i == 0) && (b % i == 0)), and if so divides it.

The % (modulus) operator returns the remainder of a divided by i.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 Martyr2  Icon User is online

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 September 2011 - 11:16 PM