• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 1715 Views - Last Post: 15 September 2011 - 11:46 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Telecommute Jobs. Do they even exist?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:33 AM

Hi,

I am a c# developer with 2+ years experience in web forms apps, asp.net development (1+ year), mobile apps (1+ years).
I am looking for a legitimate telecommute job but haven't been able to find one yet.
Do they even exist?. I will really appreciate if someone who already is working via telecommute or has done so in the past, could share his/her experience.
Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Telecommute Jobs. Do they even exist?

• LIKE A BOSS
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Telecommute Jobs. Do they even exist?

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:38 AM

I'm the kind of person who would probably do more work on a telecommuting job than in a "real" job. I have not found anything of the sort yet, although as a free lance web developer you can easily pull it off, as long as you have enough clients.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:42 AM

If by "telecommute" you mean 'work from home' then I guess I would be one.

I work full-time +, for a company as a software engineer. The company is based in one state. I am currently in another.

But it wasn't always that way. I started at the main office. Came to work 8-5 just like everyone else. It took time and the right opportunity to show that productivity can actually go up, for the right person, when taken away from the constant distractions of the office.

You might have to start in an office so management can get to know your work ethics. Most people don't do well being self-managed. Its too easy to sleep in, put off work in favor of doing the dishes, etc. Then by the end of the week you have only worked 10 hours but still expect to be paid for 40.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -