9 Replies - 7324 Views - Last Post: 19 September 2011 - 03:35 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The best programming language for beginners?

Posted 16 September 2011 - 02:52 PM

I am pretty new to coding, and I am looking for a good programming language for beginners.
Does anyone know a simple language I can use to get the hang of coding games? I've tried C++ and Java, but C++ didn't work out for me, and I didn't really manage to create anything big with Java.

I'd really appreciate it if you would spend a few seconds to give me a reccomendation of a language I can use to learn game programming =)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: The best programming language for beginners?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: The best programming language for beginners?

Posted 16 September 2011 - 03:20 PM

While I wouldn't recommend it for long-term use, the environment that helped me take my first steps into game development was Game Maker. The drag-and-drop interface can provide a great introduction to the concepts, and the tool's integrated functionality is great for giving you a fun environment to learn in. I first started programming using Game Maker's scripting language, GML (Game Maker Language), which is a C-like language that can be quite useful for getting used to programming.

If you're more interested in keeping with a primarily-programming environment, I'd recommend starting out with Python and PyGame. Python is a powerful (and increasingly common) scripting language, and can definitely help you to come to terms with how programming works and the general logic behind games.

And lastly, something that might be the middle ground between the two suggestions, there's the Blitz series, which uses a BASIC-spinoff called BlitzBasic, and comes in multiple flavors based on what your needs are.