• +

37 Replies - 9342 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2011 - 02:51 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Self-taught vs. Professional instuructor

Posted 18 September 2011 - 08:26 AM

Hello everyone.

I am currently self-teaching myself C#, and whenever I come across something that doesn't make sense to me, I always wish that I had a professional instructor, since they will usually be able to explain the concepts of programming much better than if you tried to do it yourself.

I also recognize, however, that being self-taught allows you the flexiblity of managing your own learning schedule (such as I will learn chapter 5 and then I will learn chapter 25 etc.), which can be beneficial in many situations. It also usually helps you learn how to solve problems on your own.

What about all of you? Which do you think is better in the long run?

P.S. I don't know if this is the appropriate place to put this topic. Any necessary moves by the moderators to the appropriate forum would be greatly appreciated

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Self-taught vs. Professional instuructor

• >>──(Knee)──►
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Self-taught vs. Professional instuructor

Posted 18 September 2011 - 08:35 AM

What about </dream.in.code>? When you post a question here you receive an answer from an expert in that programming language or field, who actually applies that knowledge on a daily basis in their job. What could be better? :)
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 September 2011 - 08:39 AM

True, this website is incredibly awesome. :D

But I'm talking about true self-teaching yourself a language vs. having a true professional instructor, such as those at a university.

I do not mean to down vote any professionals here, for they are very helpful in their areas. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon