• (3 Pages)
  • +

37 Replies - 9341 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2011 - 02:51 AM

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Self-taught vs. Professional instuructor

Posted 20 September 2011 - 07:35 AM

IMO, it's best to have your non-commercial stuff on a simple (but well made) personal web site. That shows you have at least some skill with web stuff, and it should be accessible to the employers when they're pre-screening your resumes.

Of course, there's the stuff you've written for companies. You don't own the code you write for other people on their dime, so you can't exactly show that off. The best you can do is describe the project, and describe your role in the project.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 22 September 2011 - 02:45 AM

View Posthookiethe1, on 19 September 2011 - 02:44 PM, said:

View PosttlhIn`toq, on 18 September 2011 - 08:44 AM, said:

our company and everyone we work with won't hire university graduates until they have AT LEAST 5 years of real-world experience because in reality they have far more ego than skill.

This gets my panties in a bunch. This is a really shitty attitude that should be shunned by real professionals in this industry. It's really fucking hard to get a foot in the door as an inexperienced graduate in this business, and assholes who think this way only make it tougher. It's the responsibility of all employers in the industry to take in recent graduates and give them the experience that makes them quality programmers. Employers who think like that are just parasites, taking from the pool of talent but never giving anything back.

Good to see im not the only one who feels this way. Ill be graduating soon and hopefully I dont run into any companies with this type of attitude.

This post has been edited by neato0z: 22 September 2011 - 02:47 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 22 September 2011 - 12:54 PM