7 Replies - 660 Views - Last Post: 21 September 2011 - 02:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

For Loops (Explain - Beginner)

Posted 21 September 2011 - 06:20 AM

So, I'm fairly new to Java and I'm having a bit of trouble understanding for loops. Say you want a code that first sets a variable total to 0 and then uses the for loop to add 3 to total 17 times. I know the code is this:

int total = 0;
for (int index = 1; index <= 17; index++)
{
total = total + 3;
}

...But I don't quite understand why. I understand that int total = 0, but not the rest of it. :helpsmilie: ?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: For Loops (Explain - Beginner)

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: For Loops (Explain - Beginner)

Posted 21 September 2011 - 06:25 AM

You can think of it in terms of this:

There are three main components to the 'for' loop, each of them separated by a ';'. The first part, 'int index = 1' sets up a standard int variable called 'index' and sets it to 1. Pretty simple. The second part, 'index <= 17, simply means 'iterate over the code within this for loop, while index is less than or equal to 17. The third part, 'index++' increments the 'index' variable. It will increment once every time the loop completes and gets back to the beginning. As you can see, the second and third parts of the 'for loop' structure work together.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 21 September 2011 - 06:26 AM

Here is how a for loop works. There are the following components:
for(<var-declaration>; <boolean-condition>; <var-modification>){
    //code
}