10 Replies - 782 Views - Last Post: 26 September 2011 - 01:14 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where Should I Begin?

Posted 24 September 2011 - 10:45 AM

I'm kind of new to programming, with my knowledge consisting of basic HTML and CSS. But I was hoping to work on programming and designing some games in my spare time and I simply have no idea which coding language I should begin with! I'm quite willing to do my own research on the tutorials and whatnot section of this site, but I think narrowing it down to one or two to begin with might best preserve my sanity... so any specific language(s) you guys would suggest for a complete beginner? Things I can have trial and error with and quickly see what works and doesn't would work best for me at this point, I think.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Where Should I Begin?

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Where Should I Begin?

Posted 24 September 2011 - 11:07 AM

See FAQ #20

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions - Updated Sep 2011

Spoiler

Resources, references and suggestions for new programmers. - Updated Sep 2011
Spoiler

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 24 September 2011 - 12:12 PM

View Postmugenginga, on 24 September 2011 - 06:45 PM, said:

I'm kind of new to programming, with my knowledge consisting of basic HTML and CSS. But I was hoping to work on programming and designing some games in my spare time and I simply have no idea which coding language I should begin with! I'm quite willing to do my own research on the tutorials and whatnot section of this site, but I think narrowing it down to one or two to begin with might best preserve my sanity... so any specific language(s) you guys would suggest for a complete beginner? Things I can have trial and error with and quickly see what works and doesn't would work best for me at this point, I think.

Thanks!