2 Replies - 1848 Views - Last Post: 29 September 2011 - 02:17 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Using vb.net to post to a webform in Internet Explorer

Posted 28 September 2011 - 10:47 AM

I am trying to programmatically post to a textbox on a web form in IE - I have tried sendkeys - but I dont find them reliable or consistent - The code below is perfect - but only seems to work in a webbrowser control. How do I (click a button/select a radiobutton) send 'hello world' to a textbox on a webform in IE? By the way I would be happy to use the webbrowser control (so the code below would work) - but the webpage (which is not the one in the code below) runs locally on my machine (I dont have any control over it) and does not seem to work within a webbrowser control
Can anyone help??
PS go easy on me - I'm a Newbie/Thick

Public Class Form1
  Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
   ' Load particular page in WebBrowser object
   WebBrowser1.Navigate("http://www.24directory.com.ar/submit.php")
   End Sub
  Private Sub WebBrowser1_DocumentCompleted(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.WebBrowserDocumentCompletedEventArgs) Handles WebBrowser1.DocumentCompleted
        Beep()

' Part 1: Locate the Radio button "Regular links" and automatically click it

'<input type="radio" name="LINK_TYPE" value="normal">

Dim theElementCollection As HtmlElementCollection = WebBrowser1.document.GetElementsByTagName("Input")

For Each curElement As HtmlElement In theElementCollection

Dim controlValue As String = curElement.GetAttribute("Value").ToString

If controlValue = "reciprocal" Then

curElement.InvokeMember("click")

End If

Next

' Part 2: Locate the Description RichTextBox and automatically input some text

'<textarea name="DESCRIPTION" rows="3" cols="37" class="text"></textarea>

theElementCollection = WebBrowser1.document.GetElementsByTagName("textarea")