2 Replies - 963 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2011 - 08:19 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Entry Level Jobs

Posted 01 October 2011 - 05:10 PM

I was just wondering if anyone here could explain what it would take at minimum to gain a job as an entry level programming job. I'm no where close to gaining a job in programming, as I'm only in my second year in college. So with that being said, what skills should I have?

Also, I wasn't sure where to put this, so sorry if it is misplaced.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Entry Level Jobs

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is online

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Entry Level Jobs

Posted 01 October 2011 - 05:28 PM

I was just wondering if anyone here could explain what it would take at minimum to gain a job as an entry level programming job.

1.) Prove that you have the skill set required to do the job.
2.) Be more of a value to the company than the other applicants.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Entry Level Jobs

Posted 01 October 2011 - 08:19 PM

You can take advantage of any co-ops your school offers. You can start your own open-source project or contribute to a pre-existing one. You can talk to your professors about research opportunities. All of those things look good on a resume. Even putting a great deal of effort into something that your passionate about is a good sign.

Often, I see job descriptions with focused skill sets, e.g., J2EE, Spring, RMI; C#, LINQ, SQL Server; PHP, Zend, JQuery; etc. So, it seems that companies want applicants that can actually do the job (i.e. have done something similar). Just like what no2pencil said. And, just to differentiate between candidates that can do the job and those that can do it quickly and with good practices, employers require 2+ years experience.