14 Replies - 2742 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2011 - 03:58 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Newbie: Nesting loops and getting results - wrong method?

Posted 02 October 2011 - 03:52 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Ruby, and am having issues getting it to do what I need. It is an easier language than C++ (when I tried to learn it), and I am slowly (but surely) catching onto it.

I am trying to get the average amount of rainfall for all months, the amount of months and average rainfall per month. I think I am using the wrong thing (attr_accesor) to get what I need, I might have the right idea but I'm not doing it the correct way.

The first loop I made collects the amount of years and iterates once. The nested loop asks the user for the amount of inches of rain per month and iterates 12 times. At least, I think that's what I'm telling it to do.

class Screen
  def cls
    puts ("\n" * 25)
  end
end

class Amount
    attr_accessor :year
    attr_accessor :Jan, :Feb, :Mar, :Apr, :May, :Jun, :Jul, :Aug, :Sep, :Oct, :Nov, :Dec
end

Inches = Amount.new

puts "How many years to calculate?"
  year = STDIN.gets
  year.chop!

loop do
    if year.to_i < 1
      puts "Do not insert a number less than 1 year."  
    answer = STDIN.gets     
    break if year.to_i >= 1
    end

#MONTHS
     puts "Rainfall for January? "
     Jan = STDIN.gets

The rest of the months follow using same syntax. The code continues with:

#Invalid number, negative number for monthly rainfall
    if Inches.to_i <= 0
    puts "Cannot insert a negative number for amount of rainfall"
    break if Inches.to_i >= 1

end
end

I do get errors but they're something silly with the loop and math operators and I'm trying to work them out right now. I am pretty sure I am able to calculate the average and months at the end on my own, so I did not include it in the code.

Can anyone point out what part of the code I need to look into or suggest a better way?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +