8 Replies - 2787 Views - Last Post: 02 December 2011 - 06:15 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Coding for an Ipad

Posted 07 October 2011 - 07:43 AM

I am a beginner when it comes to coding. I know how to make websites meaning that I know html, Java, etc. This is the extent to my current knowledge of coding.
My boss has given me a large task. He wants me to begin studying how to code for an Ipad. I have no idea where to start for this. If anyone has any advice on where to start this task I would be much obliged.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Coding for an Ipad

#2 BetaWar  Icon User is online

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Coding for an Ipad

Posted 07 October 2011 - 07:49 AM

Well the first thing to do is decide if $1000+ is within your "study budget". If it is then go out an buy the cheapest mac you can. If it isn't, then go out and buy Adobe Flash (only around $600).

Basically you have to either make the application in Flash (and then compile to .app which requires you have an Apple Developer's license). You will need to know/ learn ActionScript 3.0.

Or use xCode (only available on macs) and compile an i* mobile project. From there you can use their simulator to try it out. I believe they have started charging for the developer's kit for iPhone and iPad though so I don't know how much that costs... You will also have to learn Objective-C.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2011 - 07:49 AM

Moved to the 'objective c' forum...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2011 - 08:32 AM

Thank you so much. Purchasing a MAC is no problem they are willing to supply that. I have seen some flash tutorials I had no idea you could use that to make an Ipad app. Thank you again for the great advice.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -