Build a computer myself

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

18 Replies - 5011 Views - Last Post: 28 December 2011 - 11:14 AM

#1 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 08:13 AM

Hello everyone,

I should like to build a Desktop Personal Computer by myself.
Because before I always have been using a laptop.

I have not very much knowledge of hardware, only the very basics.
(With basics I mean I know how the pieces of a computer looks, but I suppose that's all)

Because I don't have a very high budget for now, I think I have to spend the most on part's who are quite important and don't have to be replaced in the next few years, like the motherboard and the tower/case.

I should like to have the following things supported in the computer:
- Capability to attach 3 (three) monitors/screens (but for now only 1), I suppose this have something to do with the video-card ??
- Capability to attach DVD/Blu-ray/CD reader/writer, suppose this have to do with the motherboard ???
- About 10 USB inputs available which are all powered, this has something to do with the tower/case and motherboard.
- Capability to replace video-card and sound-card.
- I've also read a few about 2 or more video-cards build on the motherboard, but I don't really know how this could work.
- 8 GB RAM should be nice.
- Motherboard have (of course) to support every part and capability to have multiple and replaceable video-cards and monitors?
- Quite fast 64bit Quad-Core processor (CPU), maybe Intel, which should be able to get replaced later (when I have more to spend)
- Maybe a SSD for start-up and HDD for data? (Maybe multiple for both, and able to attach later) I don't know if it could be possible for this but when my computer is started op from SSD, it should be a waste of energy to start up all other hard-disks, so could it be possible to selectively start up and shut down those hard-disks when running, because this could save lots of energy.

I know quality and low-budget are not really things who could work together, but I should really like to build one.
For this I only need the computer itself. (So without mouse, keyboard, monitors...)
I also don't need the operating system for now, but the computer (motherboard/CPU) has to be able to support Windows8.
But I do need the computer case and all parts inside.

I've also not very much experience with configuring the BIOS, because I think I have to configure everything in it, such as the 3 monitors, amount of video-cards and everything else, maybe you could you give me advise/clarity about this?

So for short:
I should like to build a 64bit Quad-Core computer, able to attach 3 monitors, multiple USB-inputs and internal disk places (SSD/HDD), also able to replace important parts like video- and sound-card. With 8 GB RAM.

Now... after this very long text typed I hope my wishes are clearly.

I hope someone or some could give me advise about which parts could stick together and recommend me a few brands for the pieces.

Thanks in advance,

Sinned

This post has been edited by Sinned: 20 October 2011 - 08:20 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Build a computer myself

#2 sas1ni69  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 85
  • View blog
  • Posts: 431
  • Joined: 04-December 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 08:35 AM

The computer you're trying to build sounds pretty expensive. The quad core processor and the SSD will set you back quite a bit. How much is your budget anyways?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 08:56 AM

Yes... I know those parts are quite expensive, so I decided tho spend the most on the motherboard and processor.
And a SSD is something which is, when its from a good brand, from high quality and almost never break down.

My very highest complete budget is 1000 euro. (I live in Europe, with euro's)
I've calculated for american users, by current exchange rates, 1000 euro is 1380 US dollar.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 blackcompe  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1155
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,533
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 09:01 AM

There are like a million and one combinations of hardware you could throw together. First of all, what's your budget? And what's the purpose of the PC? Gaming, video/audio editing, web browser/office use?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Orangutan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 06-April 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 09:01 AM

I'd honestly suggest just buying a premade computer instead of trying to make a dream computer your first time around. Start with something cheap for your first run, that way if you accidentally mess something up you're only set back on cheap parts instead of a quad core or SSD.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 09:47 AM

I've already thought about buying a premade computer and replacing some parts.
But without a premade computer some things are not possible.
Many premade PCs use a motherboard with integrated video- and sound-card.
And also RAM is usually integrated in the motherboard.

And I've already said my budget is maximum 1000 euro (= 1380 US Dollar).
I should use the computer for many, many things!

I mean I often play very graphic-intensive games (Like Assassin's Creed).
But I also develop software on it, I edit pictures on it and I model 3D models.

So I suppose the video-card and processor are the most important.
I don't use sound very much, but I use it somethings, so I could have a cheap sound-card.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 09:54 AM

Quote

But without a premade computer some things are not possible.
Many premade PCs use a motherboard with integrated video- and sound-card.

Yes, but as long as you have a PCIExpress slot for you video card and a PCI slot for a soundcard you can upgrade them at your whim.

Quote

And also RAM is usually integrated in the motherboard.

This is pretty much false. RAM is as easily swappable as a videocard.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:11 AM

With integrated RAM I was thinking wrong.

But I've read something about that a motherboard or the BIOS on it could only support a maximum amount of RAM, so it's important to look at that.
Am I right with this argument?

And where do I have to look for the component which makes support for 3 monitors/screens?
Do I have to look for this at the motherboard, at the video-card or at the BIOS?
And the case/tower does also require 3 monitor/screen outputs.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:16 AM

Quote

Am I right with this argument?

Well yeah - motherboards have max amount of ram. That kind of goes along when you are comparing them.

Quote

And where do I have to look for the component which makes support for 3 monitors/screens?

A video card with three display ports, multiple videocards with ports, or a splitter for the cable.

Quote

Do I have to look for this at the motherboard, at the video-card or at the BIOS?

Videocard and motherboard.. stop worrying about bios.

Quote

And the case/tower does also require 3 monitor/screen outputs.

It will be from your videocards added to it.. so if there's holes for slots then you are good.

Found off newegg..

Missing a hard drive, 4 or more usb PCI expansion card.. powersupply... oh and optical.
Spoiler

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:21 AM

Just go look at bittech's hardware buying guide they update monthly.. Get some ideas and go from there.

http://www.bit-tech....eptember-2011/1
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:25 AM

Alright, thanks for all information.

But I'm thinking about the 3 monitors/screens, because with 3 monitors I meant they have to work separately.
They may not show all three the same picture.

This would happen when I should use a cable splitter, but because I have no experience with the others, could you tell me if they do work separately pictures on the screens.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:53 AM

What do you mean? As an extended desktop, or what? It all depends how you do it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 11:27 AM

Erm... I've never had it before so I don't know how it's called.
Because I've only seen it by others.

But I've googled a bit and maybe this picture could explain you what I mean.
Posted Image

It are 4 screen which have different showing results, but are connected to the same PC so they work together.
So it's a very large screen.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9224
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,630
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 11:32 AM

That's a setting in your OS... heck I can hook up a monitor to a laptop, right click on the background, go to display properties, and make it extend the desktop right now...

http://howto.wired.c...ltiple_Monitors
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Sinned  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 18
  • View blog
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 13-October 10

Re: Build a computer myself

Posted 20 October 2011 - 11:34 AM

Okay, thanks.

So I only have to look at the amount of screen outputs in the PC case (on a premade PC) and the rest of the PC should be tuned for a higher amount of screens.
And than I have to use my OS to configure it for the purpose I want on that moment.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2