5 Replies - 544 Views - Last Post: 21 October 2011 - 06:44 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Online software development Teams

Posted 20 October 2011 - 10:20 AM

Hello all.

I am currently a student and I am not sure how the software development work environment is, so that is why im hoping you guys can help answer my question.I was wondering if it is possible to team up with people online and develop software together?

Is it possible, if so how? How would the project be managed? will we need a central place to develop the software or could this be done separately but then how does everything the come together? Also How is this does in the real world, when a team is working on one big project do they have have to code into one central location?

Iv seen posts where people are asking other forum users to join then in developing ABC, thats what made me start thinking about this and I thought finding someone online to help with a project sounds like a good idea, but how can this be done and managed?

Hope my question makes sense thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Online software development Teams

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Online software development Teams

Posted 20 October 2011 - 11:01 AM

I was wondering if it is possible to team up with people online and develop software together?

yes.

Is it possible, if so how?

Find open source projects (google's great for that), look at the bug list, and try and tackle what you can. Find groups on CL or the forum working on a combined project.

How would the project be managed?

By committee... Usually there are a few self appointed project managers that spend some time on that, but most of the deadlines (if there even are deadlines) are group consensus.

will we need a central place to develop the software or could this be done separately but then how does everything the come together?