Hi, i'm Dan. New to the programming world!

i''m a new starter at programming. i need to develop my skills

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 605 Views - Last Post: 25 March 2007 - 12:23 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hi, i'm Dan. New to the programming world!

Posted 21 March 2007 - 07:22 AM

Post my code like this

i don't have any yet. that's why i'm here, introducing myself 
??

I've just started learning programmin with c++
i didn't really know where a good place to start was but this seems understandable enough.
My name is Daniel i'm a student currently in my last year of sixth form and soon to be moving onto university doing a course in intelligent product design.
usually courses like that require you to have done programming or similar actually in school or college. luckily i had enough skills in the rest of it for him to make me an offer, but he said the programming ability is rare in people of a young age and so don't let that go, we can use it when you get here blah blah blah.
i had starting learning c++ for a hobby so there was no real urgency in it but now i feel like i must be a competant programmer by september. i think the books i have and the internet info is ok, but to really enjoy something you have to have friends who can help you. this is where dream in code comes in.
i'd like to find a few good people out there willing to help turn a newbie into a pro as fast as possible.
there are a few questions i feel i have to ask here because i'll sound stupid jumping straight into the deep end with them.

first, i know how to write small programs, like hello world, and things that play with numbers a bit and the complexity, i know, will grow. But, once i've written a program in c++ how do i get it to run outside of my compiler? that is the one i got with the book.
i'm sure this seems like such a stupid question to you all but you gotta ask or you won't know right?