What should my Next step as a programmer be?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 2787 Views - Last Post: 04 November 2011 - 08:31 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

What should my Next step as a programmer be?

Posted 31 October 2011 - 06:49 PM

My Name is Ty Meador. I'm 18 years old and am a senior in high school. I have been programming in C++ for 2 years now and feel as though i have a descent grasp on the languages Syntax and Semantics. My number one priority when writing code is optimization. I want programs to be small, and run quickly. It is because of this that i have avoided many interpreted and VM oriented languages such as visual basic and Java. I would like to be a video game programmer and am wondering what my next move as a programmer should be. I have considered learning the windows API, so that i may make GUI programs in C++ instead of just console applications. I am also heavily considering learning Assembly. what i DON'T want to be is the guy everyone comes to in an office building for help because their computer "just quit" or "broke". (not that there is anything wrong with that job, its just not for me) I would like to be a part of a team of programmers with similar goals and priorities. any suggestions?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 3
  • +

Replies To: What should my Next step as a programmer be?

• "Hurry up and wait"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What should my Next step as a programmer be?

Posted 31 October 2011 - 06:54 PM

Stick with C/C++ and use the Windows API which encompases everything from disk access to DirectX for your games. If you think you can write better code than the compiler (which you most likely won't at first) then instead of using Assembly to write a complete game in, just write some functions in Assembly, plop into a dll and call em.

I have sample games around somewhere written in Assembly, I could dig em out to give you a start... not for the faint of heart though.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head