6 Replies - 1668 Views - Last Post: 02 November 2011 - 12:32 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Background flowing across several <div>s

Posted 01 November 2011 - 07:45 PM

Right now, I'm overhauling my site, putting the effort in to make it look...at least decent. :)

As it is now, I've got little experience actually working with anything more than basic HTML when it comes to web scripting.

So what I've got is something like this:

<div id="container" style="color:#FFD700;width:1000px;background-image:url('background.jpg');">
   <div id="header" style="color:#FFD700;width:1000px;background-image:url('background.jpg');">
      Some stuff...
   </div>
   <div id="menu" style="height:350px;width:200px;float:left;background-image:url('background.jpg');">
      Some stuff...
   </div>
   More divs...
</div>

In the end, it looks something like...

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM (header)
MMMMMIMMMMMMMIMMMMM (menu, content, login)
MMMMMIMMMMMMMIMMMMM (menu, content, shoutbox)
      MMMMMMM       (content)

With M's being where the divs show, and the I's being some sort of odd div-change representation.

Obviously, this doesn't give a good effect, and, in fact, it makes the whole thing look like some odd sort of checkered pattern.

I HAD originally had only the first div, the "container" have the background image, but it only showed up in the "header" div, as opposed to flowing across all of them.

The image itself is more than large enough to cover all of the divs. Is there a way to make it flow across all of them?

Thanks in advance!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Background flowing across several <div>s

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Background flowing across several <div>s

Posted 01 November 2011 - 08:28 PM

Hey.