1 Replies - 276 Views - Last Post: 01 November 2011 - 08:44 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Recursive method to draw 4 Heighway Dragons

Posted 01 November 2011 - 08:33 PM

I am new to Java and I don't really understand about recursion.
Please lead me on how to write a recursive method.
As for the base class, I think I am on the right track.
My teacher said the base class should be 0 and 1.
Where level 0 is only drawing 4 lines facing north south east west
The output for level 0 and 1 are right.
But, I don't know how to write recursive method for level 3 onwards.
 /**
     * Draw the dragon curve by calling the private method of draw
     * @param g The graphics context where the drawing will take place
     */
    public void drawDragon(Graphics g){
        draw(level,g);
    }

/**
     * Private and recursive method to draw the Dragon
     * @param level The interation of the dragon
     * @param g The graphic contexts the drawing take place
     */
    private void draw(int level, Graphics g){
        int peakXNorth = (int)((center.getX() + ( north.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-north.getY())*0.5));
        int peakYNorth= (int)((center.getX() - ( north.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-north.getY())*0.5));
        int peakXSouth = (int)((center.getX() + ( south.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-south.getY())*0.5));
        int peakYSouth= (int)((center.getX() - ( south.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-south.getY())*0.5));
        int peakXWest = (int)((center.getX() + ( west.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-west.getY())*0.5));
        int peakYWest = (int)((center.getX() - ( west.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-west.getY())*0.5));
        int peakXEast = (int)((center.getX() + ( east.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-east.getY())*0.5));
        int peakYEast = (int)((center.getX() - ( east.getX()-center.getX())*0.5 -(center.getY()-east.getY())*0.5));

if(level < 0){