13 Replies - 1616 Views - Last Post: 03 November 2011 - 02:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best PHP Tutorial Source

Posted 02 November 2011 - 03:27 PM

Old guy in over his head looking for a solid source for PHP tutorials. I'm new to scripting but Tizag feels a little lightweight, is there a tutorial for PHP that compares to Python the Hard Way?.My goal is to create a dynamic PHP/MySQL site.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best PHP Tutorial Source

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best PHP Tutorial Source

Posted 02 November 2011 - 03:28 PM

We have our PHP Tutorials Section, as well as my thread Getting Better at Programming PHP to help guide you. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 November 2011 - 03:51 PM

Yes, check out the tutorials.

If you know other languages then PHP should be easy to learn. The biggest stumbling block for beginners is keeping languages straight. PHP runs on the server and it can output HTML, Javascript, CSS, etc. Those are processed by the browser after being sent by the server. This sounds simple, but you'd be amazed at how often we see code that demonstrates the writer has not understood this fact.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 November 2011 - 07:02 PM

CTphpnwb said:

If you know other languages then PHP should be easy to learn. The biggest stumbling block for beginners is keeping languages straight. PHP runs on the server and it can output HTML, Javascript, CSS, etc. Those are processed by the browser after being sent by the server. This sounds simple, but you'd be amazed at how often we see code that demonstrates the writer has not understood this fact.