5 Replies - 4109 Views - Last Post: 04 November 2011 - 01:04 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating an array for multiple choice questions

Posted 03 November 2011 - 08:53 AM

Hi, im new to the forums and am wondering if anyone can help me out. Im in the process of creating an array for a set of multiple choice questions but i am having a few problems. Im an absolute beginner at VB and i am creating a quiz that users will select one of three possible questions and then depending on their answer a +1 value will be added to the score. However I do not know where my questions and answerrs are supposed to go, from what i have read online i have to use (0, 1) format to give possible answers but i do not know how i would make the questions and aswers display in textboxes on my form. At the bottom of my code i have also included code to randomise the questions although im unsure as to if it is correct. At the moment i can run my form fine without any problems but my main issue is to how i will get the questions and answers linked to my textboxes on my form. I apologise if i am being at all vague i would be happy to clarify anything. Thanks for any help guys.

Public Class frmTest

Private ran As Random = New Random()
    Public intScore As Integer
    Private Sub cmdStart_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmdStart.Click

'Turns the message box invisible when start is clicked
        lblMessage.Visible = False

'turns the start button invisible when clicked
        cmdStart.Visible = False

'makes the groupbox for the questions and answers visible when start is clicked
        gbQandA.Visible = True

Dim PowerpointQuiz(20, 2) As String

PowerpointQuiz(0, 0) = "Title only"
        PowerpointQuiz(0, 1) = "Title and Content"
        PowerpointQuiz(0, 2) = "Title and Text"

Dim strResult As String = String.Empty
        Dim rndQuestion As String
        rndQuestion = ran.Next(0, 29)